A praise poem For The Man Who Colonised My Continent


Thank you for teaching me to be greedy 

Thank you for showing me that I should feed my hungry brother

And expect something more than I had given 

Thank you for teaching me to be materialistic

That everything I do should be towards buying and spending
Thank you for assisting me to forget my heritage

I have forgotten that I am human 

Now I am black 

Thank you for making me forget UBUNTU

That I am because you are and you are because I am 
Thank you for teaching me to be selfish

Thank you for teaching me to submit only to you 

And for always reminding me that I can never be above you 
I have learnt so much 

Thank you 

I have learnt that oppression is something I shouldn’t be surprised about

Thank you for always reminding me that I am black in every application that I fill in as if I can ever forget 
Thank you for all that you have taught me 

Published by

zaneye

Im an ordinary girl in a not to ordinary world using the world as my platform to discovery. Discovering me. This is my journey to me. 17 years old living in Durban South Africa